The Bluest Eye:

A Virtual Public Reading

February 23 & 24
@7pm ET / 6pm CT / 4pm PT

Photo by Deborah Feingold/Corbis via Getty Images

The Bluest Eye:

A Virtual Public Reading

February 23 & 24 @ 7pm ET

Photo by Deborah Feingold/Corbis via Getty Images

FEATURING:

Angela Davis

Edwidge Danticat

Glory Edim

Honorée Fanonne Jeffers

Jacqueline Woodson

Jesmyn Ward

Kimberlé Crenshaw

Leila Mottley

Mahogany L. Browne

Nikole Hannah-Jones

Tayari Jones

Angela Davis by KK Ottesen
Edwidge Danticat by Lynn Savanese
Glory Edim source Glory Edim
Honorée Fanonne Jeffers by Syndey A. Foster
Jacqueline Woodson by John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
Jesmyn Ward by Beowulf Sheehan
Kimberlé W. Crenshaw source Kimberlé W. Crenshaw
Leila Mottley by Magdalena Frigo
Mahogany L. Browne source Mahogany L. Browne
Nikole Hannah-Jones by James Estrin
Tayari Jones by Tyson Alan Horne

Toni Morrison & The Power of Story

Society continues to receive Morrison’s first novel with controversy. She is unapologetic in her depiction of the suffering and neglect of Black girls and women and the consequences of the psychological and physical violence they have endured for generations. Morrison is equally committed to lifting up their humanity and grace while interrogating the mechanisms by which oppression is internalized.

Literacy Partners is an adult literacy program. African American and immigrant parents come to our program to transform their lives and create a brighter future for their family. Access to stories and the ability to tell one’s own are essential to heal from trauma – individual and collective. Adult literacy has always been a tool for liberation and a means of organizing to end systemic oppression.

We present this public reading in solidarity with Black girls and women everywhere. Justice demands that we not look away.

The Public Reading will be available here until Sunday March 13, 2022. Scroll down to watch the program for free or donate to advance racial and social justice through adult literacy education.

Donate $100 or more and receive a free copy of The Bluest Eye and a surprise book from another participating author.

PART ONE

Program begins at 14:52

PART TWO

Program begins at 15:05

OUR SPONSORS

TMS logo